Big Apple Brownfield Awards

The Big Apple Brownfield Awards promote excellence in brownfield redevelopment by honoring successful brownfield projects in New York City.

Each year the NYC Brownfield Partnership formally recognizes successful NYC brownfield clean-up and redevelopment projects at the Big Apple Brownfield Awards, an awards and networking event. Award-winning projects have had positive effects on the community and have demonstrated excellence in the following areas: Affordable Housing, Brownfield Opportunity Area Connectivity, Collaboration, Community Outreach, Economic Development, Environmental Protection, Green Building, Innovation, Open Space, and Sustainable Remediation.

In addition to recognizing Brownfield projects, the Partnership also recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact on brownfield redevelopment in NYC through its Distinguished Service Award. Past winners of the Partnership’s Distinguished Service Awards include USEPA Assistant Administrator Mathy Stanislaus (2009), City Council Member James F. Gennaro (2010), and City Council Speaker Christine C. Quinn (2011).

The NYC Brownfield Partnership recognizes successful NYC brownfield redevelopment projects at its annual awards and networking event. To learn more about previous events please click the links below:

2014 Big Apple Brownfield Awards
2013 Big Apple Brownfield Awards
2012 Big Apple Brownfield Awards
2011 Big Apple Brownfield Awards
2010 Big Apple Brownfield Awards
2009 Big Apple Brownfield Awards

2015 Big Apple Brownfield Awards Nominations

Deadline extended to February 13, 2015!

In order to be eligible for a 2015 Big Apple Brownfield Award, the project must:
– Be located within the five boroughs of New York City;
– Have been impacted by an environmental contamination issue;
– Have participated in an environmental remediation regulatory program; and,
– Have received final regulatory signoff by December 31st, 2014. Examples of final regulatory signoff include: Notice of Satisfaction, Notice of Completion, Certificate of Completion, Declaration of covenant not to sue, or ‘No Further Action’ letter.

Nominations may be submitted by an individual, firm, non-profit group, or organization involved in the project; or by a third party with sufficient knowledge of the project. Projects that do not receive a Big Apple Brownfield Award are welcome to resubmit in subsequent years.

Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of the NYC Brownfield Partnership, and final selections will be approved by the Partnership’s Board of Directors. The decisions of the Board are final. Award winners will be contacted in March 2015. Nominees should attempt to quantify and demonstrate measurable activities, effects, benefits, or improvements in their responses for each award category. Submissions that exceed the allotted space in the nomination may not be considered. Awards may not be given in all categories every year.

Please complete the Nomination Form and send it to using the “Submit Form” button at the end of the form.

The deadline for receipt of all nomination materials is February 13, 2015. Materials received after the deadline will not be considered.

Nomination Info
Nomination Form
Guidelines for Nomination Essays